• Latest News

    Wednesday, 27 June 2018

    Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Fawad Chaudhri,Maulana Ashraf Jalali can't contest election-2018

    An appellate tribunal on Wednesday rejected nomination papers of former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi from National Assembly Constituency NA-57 in Murree.
    Rawalpindi's Election Appellate Tribunal judge Justice Ibadur Rehman Lodhi had reserved his judgement two days ago over a plea filed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf worker Masood Ahmed Abbasi against Shahid Khaqan Abbasi's nomination papers.
    The applicant stated that Khaqan Abbasi had tempered his records submitted to the Returning Officer and provided incorrect details about his properties.
    He said the former prime minister has encroached forest land of Lawrence College while he has also provided incorrect information regarding ownership of his property in Sector F-7-II.
    Admitting all the objections raised by applicant, the tribunal rejected nomination papers of Abbasi.
    The former premier is also a candidate of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz from a National Assembly constituency in Islamabad.
    An election tribunal on Wednesday declared Tehreek-e-Labbaik leader Maulana Ashraf Jalali disqualified from contesting election from National Assembly Constituency NA-81 Gujranwala.
    The decision came as Lahore High Court's Election Appellate Tribunal Judge Justice Shahbaz Rizvi heard an application filed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz's covering candidate Atif Fareed Sabir.
    The applicant argued that niether did the maulana mention his tax returns nor he submitted his passport nor provided details about his foreign visits in his nomination papers.
     He stated that the maulana is not qualified to contest election under article 62, 63 of the constitution.
    While giving his verdict, the judge declared RO's decision to accept Jalali's nomination papers null and void, disqualiyng the candidate from constesting election.
    The PMLN has fielded former Defence Minister Khurram Dastagir from  NA-81.
    An election tribunal on Wednesday rejected nomination papers of Paksitan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Fawad Chaudhry from NA-67 Jhelum.
    The application against the PTI leader was filed by Justice and Democratic Party candidate Fakhar Abbasi Kazmi who said Fawad Chauhdyr has failed to pay agricultural tax. 
    In another objection, the applicant cited a discrepancy in the identity card of  Fawad Hussain Chaudhry whose name, he said, was written as Fawad Ahmed.
    Accepting the arguments, the tribunal rejected the nomination papers of PTI leader.
    Responding to the judgment of the tribunal, Fawad Chaudhry released a video in which he said he would file an appeal against the decision as land less than 12 acres is exempted from agricultural tax.He also announced to approach  Supreme Judicial Council and the Pakistan Bar Council  against the   judge who gave the verdict.
    The outspoken PTI leader also raised questions about the appointment of the judge.
    He expressed the the hope that the decision aganst him would be reversed within a couple of  days, asking his supporters to continue the election campaign  in the constituency
    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Fawad Chaudhri,Maulana Ashraf Jalali can't contest election-2018 Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Asqamar