• Latest News

    Sunday, 14 January 2018

    Bar association election held at district and Tehsil level in South Punjab

    MULTAN, Jan 14th:Elections of district Bar association were held in peaceful manners, However, a group of lawyers boycotted the election in Kehror Pucca,Elections will be held again in Sargodha and Faisalabad. Mehboob Sandeela and Javed Aujla have been elected as President and General Secretary of District Bar Multan,Suhail Akhtar  and Amjad Asghar were elected in DBA Muzaffargarh, Naeeem Bhatti(President) and Ashfaq Ahmed (General Secretary) in Bahawalpur, Nadeem Ghaus  and Bilal Ahmed Gopang in Dera Ghazi Khan, Fayyaz Lakhvera and Farooq Khan have been elected as President and General Secretary of Vehari bar, Muhammad Ajmal Bhutta and Kaleem Arshad elected as President and General Secretary of Khanewal bar,S.M.Javed and Imran Nawaz in Lodhran,Ghazanfar Abbas and Masroor Hussain elected in Layyah,Tahir Javed and Mudassar Hussain elected in Yazman ,Mazhar Shah Group swept the poll in  Hasilpur Tehsil,Aftabn Cheema and AbdulLatif Kanju have been elected as President and General Secretary, SArdar Nazar Hussain Aslam and  Ghulam Mujtaba Lashari elected in Ahmedpur East, Friends group's  Gul;am Shabbir Rizvi and  Ghafoor Khan Gurmani elected in Gurmani.According to details issued by the election committee, Malik Mehboob Ali Sandeela elected as President by obtaining 1029 votes, his rival Mumtaz Noor Tangra got 894 vote, Nasheed Arif Giondal 203, and Hussain Farooq Hashmi 53 votes. Mushtaq Haider elected as Vice President by bagging 970 bvotes ,his rival candidate Mudassar Hussain Zaidi got 780 votes and third candidate Mirza Irfan Baig annexed 382 votes, Malik Javed Iqbal Aujla elected as General Secretary by obtaining 1046 votes,,his rivals Shahid Mehmood Chawan, 576, Waseem Khan 360,Ch.Tariq Mehmood 188, Saima Ayyub Jatt elected as Joint Secretary  by bagging 1101 votes,her rivals Rehana Naz Jatt 772, Sameea Wazir Seyal 258, Naveed ur-Rehman  was elected as Finance Secretary with overwhelming margin and he got 1748 votes while his rivakl zafar Iqbal got only 365 votes. Tasawar Manzoor Khatoon has been elected as Library secretary by obtaining 1224 votes,her rival Zahood-ud-din  Tahir got 910 votes. Executive Body:Azam Hussain Sahil, (1262) Ahmed Raza (1261) Riaz Rajwana (1020)Jaffar Shah (1040)Amjad Zeeshan (1023) Javed Iqbal (1008)Adnan Mushtaq Ansari(991)Muhammad Amjad Khan (985),Muhammad Sajid (934) and Zeshan Tauqeer (922).
    Malik Arshad of the Friends Group which is led by Asma Jahangir  managed to secure the top slot of president Lahore Bar Association (LBA) 2018 by toppling Asim Cheema of Hamid Khan’s Professional Group.

    Unofficial results reveal that Arshad was ahead of his rival candidate by over 740 votes, while his vote count is said to be 1,710.
    Cheema was behind him with 1,007 votes, indicating victory for  Arshad. A total of 39 candidates contested the election for 11 different slots and there was one-on-one contest between presidential slot.
    Mehar Tanveer Iftikhar, Asad Ali, Ijaz Basra, Chaudhry Fawad Ramey and Rana Naeem contested for two seats of vice presidents.
    Moreover, Rana Kausar Ali, Syed Mujtaba Kazmi, Mian Asif were also vying for vice president seat of Model Town.
    Rana Manzoor Ahmed, Syed Zahid Hamdani, Irfan Khichi, Aziz Bhatti, Muhammad Sindhu, and Mian Sakhawat stood for vice president seat from Cantt courts.
    Furthermore, there were eight contesters namely Rana Kashif Saleem, Malik Sohail Murshad, Chaudhry Qadir Nawaz, M Azeem, Asif Chohan, Abid Hafeez, Faraz and Maqsood Khokhar for the two seats of secretaries.
    For one seat of joint secretary, Tayaba Mumarik, Makhdoom Shah, Ch Tehseen Tahir and Usman Bhatti were in the field.
    Also, for one seat of finance secretary, the contesters Shabnam Bano, Razia Sultana, Raja Numan and Imtiaz Gujjar were contesting.
    Interestingly, it was for the first time that biometric machines were used for electoral process.
    According to chairman election board, 5,136 voters exercised their right to vote. As many as 7,300 voters got themselves registered for biometric process, although the total voters of the bar are over 18,000.
    The polling started at 10am and continued till 5:30pm with no untoward incident reported.

    Rao Abdul Rehman and Rana Munawar Hussain Jakhar have been elected as President and General Secretary of Jalalpur Pirwala.Younas Kirmani, Vice President Nasir Baloch Joint Secretary and Saeed Ahmed Finance secretary.
    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: Bar association election held at district and Tehsil level in South Punjab Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Asqamar